Home > About > Chamber Events > Annual Banquet > Farm Family Stewardship Award
Email Page Bookmark Print

Farm Family Stewardship Award Nomination Criteria

Winners of the Farm Family Stewardship Award are selected based on criteria important to Rockingham County, including preserving our family farming traditions, employing conservation methods in farming, and preserving our environment. Our winner will demonstrate that stewardship means more to them than taking care of their farm; it means taking care of the community, too.

The Chamber of Commerce accepts nominations  for Community Champion and presents the award at our Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony held in January of each year.

The criteria for nominations are:

  • The farming operation must be the primary means of livelihood for this person or family
  • The nominee must demonstrate environmentally conscientious practices
  • The nominee must display some community involvement, either at the local or state level
  • The farming operation must be located in Rockingham County

Past Winners:

The Farm Family award has been presented by the Chamber since 1994 to honor environmentally conscious agri-businesses. Past winners are not eligible to receive the award. 
They include:

1994   Hillview Farms, Inc. – Steve & Kevin Craun
1995   Lauredo Farms, Inc. – Mr. and Mrs. Roscoe Wine
1996   Valley Pike Farm, Inc. – Mr. and Mrs. Gary Lohr
1997   Adams Farms, Inc. – Adams Family
1998   King Farm - Mr. and Mrs. Daniel King
1999   Double “M” Farms - Mr. and Mrs. Sonny Meyerhoeffer
2000   Glen Hill Farm - Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Stoneburner
2001   Beery Farms, Inc. - Danny and Anthony Beery
2002   Beaver Creek Farm - Michael Newman Family
2003   Valley View Farms – Phillips Family
2004   Rohrer Brothers Dairy – George and Ralph Rohrer
2005   Six Oaks Farm – Richard Morris and Family
2006   Walkup Holsteins, LLC – Myers & Calendar families
2007   Fox Run Farms – Ray J Showalter & Family
2009   Vrolijk Farm – Vrolijk Family
2010   The Rees Family – David & Judy Rees
2011   Grazeland Dairy - Philip Witmer and Family
2012   Rainbow Hill Farm - Dave & Terri Bruce
2013   Miller Farm - Craig & Nancy Miller
2014   Twin Oaks Farm - The Threewits Family
2015   Cross County Angus - The Newman Family